First Post!

Andrew Baio: www.waxy.org

Posted on: October 11, 2005

  • In: First Post
  • Comments Off on Andrew Baio: www.waxy.org

Andy and his waxy.org blog is surely popular. Right now he is listed as number 66 on Technorati 100 Popular Blogs. His first post was… well apparently there was no title on it. But the date was on April 14, 2002. All I got is that two words on his permalink “the_basi”, what is that supposed to mean? UPDATE: Okay, just follow the permalink and you will see.. yes, it’s Andy’s first post’s title “The Basic Idea”. So, that’s what the_basi means :)

So, I’ve never really had a personal website. For the last seven years or so, I used the Generic Website as a placeholder for a site that never came. Sure, there were always little nooks and crannies hiding under that blank page, but I figured it was finally time for something a little more substantial.

I can’t promise I’ll keep to these, but here are the rules:

1. No journaling, unless it’s relevant to people who don’t know me. Example: “Today I went down to 7-11 and bought a Slurpee. Strawberry is my favorite flavor!”

2. No tired memes, unless I have something to add. Example: “Take this quiz and find out which Smurf you are! I’m Jokey!”

3. Be original.

Thanks to the close friends who, until this point, have put up with my endless links and web commentary in instant messages and e-mail.

  • None
  • jtnt: I hate you. I had this idea a couple months ago, I just didn't actually start the site. I even went around and tracked down a few first posts of famou
  • Jim: Maddox would be very unhappy with you
  • firstpost: Hm, yes I think it will be interesting. By saying timeline, do you mean like mapping out the dates of people's first posts? Like: 17 May 2005: Eri

Categories

Archives

